Suzuki Ami – can’t stop the DISCO

can’t stop the DISCO was Suzuki Ami’s 15th single. It was released September 24, 2008. It sold 4,655 copies in it’s first week and reached #17 on the charts. The title track was used in “Mister Donuts” commercials.

Tracklist

1. can’t stop the DISCO
2. climb up to the top
3. SUPER MUSIC MAKER (SA’08S/A mix)

I was so incredibly excited waiting for this single, and when I finally got my hands on it, I couldn’t wait to get a listen of the new songs. But before I began skipping the a-side, as I had already listened to a bunch of times from the PV, I was drawn in by the much higher quality and the 2 or so more minutes that were added. Like Ami’s last few Yasutaka releases, can’t stop the DISCO is an amazing electopop song with a more “house” feeling than her last two a-sides. The fist few seconds of the song actually begin with a very FREE FREE type sparkling synth, but that disappears for the awesome sounding synth of the song that sets a different mood from the other songs. It’s still techno, but not as strong as the others and more chill. There wasn’t anything I didn’t like about this song. I liked the verses more than the chorus the first few listens but they ended up evening out, though the bridge is especially strong. An incredibly infectious techno song.

Now, after the ownage that was A token of love, I had VERY high expectations for climb up to the top. Unfortunately, my wish for a b-side better than the a-side wasn’t granted. Don’t get me wrong though, it’s still a very good track. The song starts IMMEDIATELY from can’t stop the DISCO and has a more club sounding synth, which is also a lot stronger. There’s only really like 3 lines Ami repeats throughout the entire 6:33 of the song. It should also be noted that she’s yelling when she says them. The thing I liked most about the song would be the “Ah”‘s heard in the instrumental, which are what make the song different from anything else. However, as much as I tried to like this song, it was a tad bit too repetitive for me. The song doesn’t change until 4:50 in where it obtains this much cuter synth sound with some of the original instrumental. Unfortunately, there’s no new lyrics and the song eventually returns to it’s normal self.

I really would have preferred a FREE FREE remix(I’m guessing they didn’t do it cause the song didn’t need any kind of mixing to make it better than it already is) instead of the other a-side, but it’s better than nothing, I guess. SUPER MUSIC MAKER (SA’08S/A mix), compared to the original, is not as techno/club-y but instead gives the song a more brighter summer-ish type feeling, while changing only a few things to the arrangement. You can hear acoustic guitar in there too, which is always a plus in electropop songs. I did enjoy this mix of SMM, but I’m not sure which one I like better. I’m really not a huge fan of the song(I’d say this to anything when it’s next to FREE FREE) but it’s not bad either.

Overall, can’t stop the DISCO was another great release from Ami. I’m really liking all of Yasutaka releases so far and I can’t wait for the album. The a-side was on par with the last two releases in that it was extremely catchy and infectious, however, the bonus material on this single wasn’t quite as strong as the others. The mix of SMM was nice, but kinda unnecessary overall. climb up to the top may appeal to some people, but it’s more of an instrumental track which I quite didin’t enjoy.

Single Rating

About Abraham

J-Pop devotee, Hello! Project ace, graphic designer, blogger, gamer, dancer, prince and day dreamer. Founded Sora to Kujira.
This entry was posted in Suzuki Ami and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Suzuki Ami – can’t stop the DISCO

  1. Raid says:

    To say the least, this release was DIFFERENT from the other technopop out there in Japan currently. The whole low-voiced filtered voice was kinda fascinating.

    The PV was still kinda FAIL though. xD

  2. Raid says:

    *low-pitched I mean. Now I’m the one who fails. D:

  3. Pingback: Suzuki Ami - Supreme Show « Sora to Kujira

Leave a Reply

