2NE1 – I Don’t Care (Remixes)

I Don't Care (Reggae Mix ver.)

I Don’t Care (Reggae Mix ver.) is 2NE1’s 3rd digital single and it was released on September 3, 2009.

Tracklisting

1. I Don’t Care (Reggae Mix ver.)

Due to the huge success that the girls had performing I Don’t Care with a live band, they decided to release it digitally as the Reggae Mix ver. Personally, I think this is a great alternative to the original. The song is indeed a lot more reggae than the original and uses lighter beats, drums and jazz instruments, giving the entire song a more playful, softer feel. The chorus is great as all the instruments come together and deliver a jazzy, soulful performance. The girls also re-recorded the vocals for the song, giving it even more flavor, playing around with the melodies a bit and CL having additional rapping and singing lines.

Overall Rating

StkIIISpadeStkIIISpadeStkIIISpadeStkIIISpadeStkIIISpade


I Don't Care (Baek Kyoung Remix)

I Don’t Care (Baek Kyoung Remix) is 2NE1’s 4th digital single and it was released on September 28th, 2009.

Tracklisting

1. I Don’t Care (Baek Kyoung Remix)

This second remix of I Don’t Care originated from a live performance they only did once of the song. The Baek Kyoung Remix, in my opinion, gave the original song an even more K-Pop sound. The vocals are the same but the instrumental is completely changed. It opens with a very pretty piano melody(which maintains throughout the entire song) and then adds synth and beats once the verse begins. I thought the combination was very unique and blended nicely with how the song was originally portrayed. What I also liked was how at the first half of the second verse, the song goes back to its original instrumental and then switches back to the remixed one. It adds some variety to it and flows nicely. The song, once again, has an abrupt ending, one which could have easily been fixed with ending the song with the same piano that it started with.

Overall Rating

StkIIISpadeStkIIISpadeStkIIISpadeStkIIISpadeStkIIISpade

About Abraham

J-Pop devotee, Hello! Project ace, graphic designer, blogger, gamer, dancer, prince and day dreamer. Founded Sora to Kujira.
This entry was posted in 2NE1 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2NE1 – I Don’t Care (Remixes)

  1. PrivateLaughter says:

    I love that Reggae Mix! I think I almost listen to it more often than to the original one XD And thanks to your post I now know that there is another official remix O.o I didn’t know that~ *goes off searching for it*
    Oh, and of course great review^^

Leave a Reply

