Final Rankings: 2009 ~K-Pop~

This year I decided to adventure out of my typical H!P/J-Pop centered musical taste into the land known as K-Pop. I can honestly say that it was the best decision I had taken in a long time. K-Pop, in its own special ways, is so much different from J-Pop that it can actually intimidate some people into stepping into its world, but for some it isn’t too different, it’s still “azn muzik”.

Groups like f(x), 2NE1, 2PM, 4minute, Brown Eyed Girls, After School(and so many more) proved to me what the essence of K-Pop is, synth. While I must admit that I’m not a fan of Korean made ballads(I find them bland and uninspired), it’s the dance and pop music where it blows J-Pop out of the water. Not only did it prove a delightful distraction from my H!P stanning, but it managed to outplay my J-Pop songs.

Thus I present to you 2009’s final rankings in various categories to accommodate with the extensive K-Pop groups. The same post will be made for J-Pop and a special one for H!P&AKB48.

2PM – 1:59PM | T-ara – Absolute First Album | Younha – Part. A: peace love & ice cream

2NE1 – 2NE1 1st Mini Album | 4minute – For Muzik | Lee Minki – NO KIDDING

After School – Because Of You | Secret – I Want You Back | MBLAQ – JUST BLAQ

f(x) – Chu~♡ | After School & Son Dam Bi – AMOLED | e.via – motiphie meets e.via!

Brown Eyed Girls – Sign | 2PM – Heartbeat | 4minute – MUZIK

2PM | BIG BANG | BEAST

2NE1 | Girls’ Generation | Brown Eyed Girls

TaeGoon | e.via | IU

2NE1 – Fire | Girls’ Generation – Tell Me Your Wish (Genie) | 4minute – MUZIK

It was no easy task selecting a winner for such a big category. The entire year was filled with countless hits such as Abracadabra, Sign, Mister, Heartbeat, Heartbreaker, Because Of You, etc… But when I eventually cut it down to these three options, I knew I was right. Fire was the eventual winner. Not only is the song the most original, catchy, extroverted and fiercest release of them all, but it also set trends and put 2NE1 in the position they are today. K-Pop was loaded with hits this year so this really wasn’t easy to decide.

JYP

There was no doubt when I thought who should receive this title. The guy, while an AMAZING producer(2PM, Wonder Girls) is just too old to be performing. Heck, maybe it’s not his age but upon seeing his live performances, he’s out of breath, sweaty and just not at all sexy. Stick to producing JYP, it’s what your made for.

2NE1

2009 was 2NE1’s year, no doubt about it. Only having just debuted this year, they have already outsold both of Girl’s Generation’s mini-albums, grown a HUGE fan base, appeared in various commercials, and released THE BEST release in K-Pop of the year. Not only that, they caused a sensation with Fire and I Don’t Care, the song that awarded them 14 awards, including song of the year. Never leaving their fans in the dust, 2NE1 has released three digital solo singles in preparation for their highly anticipated full-length album next year. These girls really were the stars of K-Pop in 2009.

And thus we have the final rankings for the marvelous year that was 2009 for K-Pop. I can’t even imagine who will debut next year, any scandals that will surface and even more f***tastic music. If the Korean music industry is only getting better, I really, really can’t even begin to wonder what next year has in store. Stay tuned for the winners in the J-Pop category~

About Abraham

J-Pop devotee, Hello! Project ace, graphic designer, blogger, gamer, dancer, prince and day dreamer. Founded Sora to Kujira.
This entry was posted in ~Ranting/Blogging~, ~Special~ and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Final Rankings: 2009 ~K-Pop~

  1. Arie Jai says:

    I totally agree with you on JYP’s comeback, it was awkward and weird. I love e.via; she should get more recognition. I was happy when I found out she was on Lyn’s album.

  2. askjeevas says:

    2NE1 hwaiting~
    Your choice for best cover art amused me thoroughly. I really really hated Chu~♡’s cover, but to each his own. xD

  3. Kevin says:

    Can anyone tell me where I can see the results of the 2010 K-Pop ranking?
    I’ll appreciate it if you can send me the link to my E-Mail.

Leave a Reply

