HyunA – Change (feat. Yong Jun Hyung from BEAST)

Change (feat. Yong Jun Hyung from BEAST) is HyunA’s debut solo digital single and it was released on January 4, 2010.

Tracklisting

1. Change (feat. Yong Jun Hyung from BEAST)

I’ll admit, I’m a HUGE HyunA fan. I really love her, so upon finding out that she was going to release a solo digital single, I was ecstatic. Now, bluntly put, I was slightly disappointed. While 4minute is more of an electrifying pop group, Change is a synth heavy song with a hip-hop flair. Most of the song is rapping, which is even more evident with the addition of BEAST’s Jun Hyung, although it’s really only “just there” as he doesn’t have a minute long rap or anything. HyunA gives a charismatic vocal performance, which is routine for her, and is ABSOLUTLY FREE OF VOCODER(and all that auto-tune stuff). My problem with this song is that in it’s attempt to give an instrumental that matched HyunA’s own style(instead of 4minute’s), they left out what makes the actual groups songs so popular, the catchy bits. The song is by the same producer of 4minute’s music(the first few lines of the song totally remind me of Hot Issue) so I was expecting the song to be a lot catchier than it is.

Change is a good song, don’t get me wrong, and while I think that HyunA did a very good job, it was the feel and style of the song that didn’t win me over. Heck, maybe if it really is her style than I’m too used to 4minute’s music.

Overall Rating

StkIIISpadeStkIIISpadeStkIIISpadeStkIIISpadeStKIIIEmptySpade

About Abraham

J-Pop devotee, Hello! Project ace, graphic designer, blogger, gamer, dancer, prince and day dreamer. Founded Sora to Kujira.
This entry was posted in 4minute and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to HyunA – Change (feat. Yong Jun Hyung from BEAST)

  1. NyNy says:

    Such a great song though I doubted the pelvis-thrusting at first, I can’t stop doing it myself. :)

Leave a Reply

