Buono! – We are Buono!

We are Buono! is Buono!’s 3rd album and it was released on February 10, 2010. It reached #11 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and has sold 13,496 copies.


1. One Way = My Way
2. Our Songs♠♠
3. Independent Girl ~ Dokuritsu Joshi de Aru Tame ni
5. Urahara♠♠♠♠♠
6. Take It Easy!
7. Bravo☆Bravo♠♠♠
8. Kataomoi.
9. Blue-Sky-Blue
10. Koucha no Oishii Mise
11. Tabidachi no Uta♠♠♠♠
12. We are Buono! ~ Buono! no Theme

Ever since the release of Café Buono! around two years ago, it’s quite clear that the Buono! from before is in no way similar to the Buono! we have today. What used to be an anime-sounding, cute pop group with a rock flair has turned into a more serious, all out rock trio with some of H!P’s strongest vocalists. Thus they are in no doubt the best group in the company by far in terms of both consistency and quality.

One thing I’ve noticed about Buono! albums, unlike other H!P albums(Platinum 9 DISC comes to mind) is that Tsunku puts some thought into the structure and ordering of the tracks. Instead of seeing jumps from super catchy pop to a full-blown string ballad, everything flows nicely; the albums begin with the upbeat tracks, smoothly changes to the calmer songs then bumps up again into more mid-tempo songs before slowing down again and finally ending it with the explosive We are Buono! ~ Buono! no Theme, which is something I’ve been anticipating for a long time now and certainly doesn’t disappoint with all the personality and energy it has.

I honestly can’t say I dislike any track from this album, which is a huge surprise even to me. If anything, One Way = My Way would be least favorite since it gives me an Early Bird(from Buono! 2) vibe in that it’s a little too loud for me but is leagues better than mentioned track.

The singles of this era were perfect for me and balanced each other out well. The most aggressive track of the album, MY BOY is joined by Independent Girl ~ Dokuritsu Joshi de Aru Tame ni, a song that doesn’t fall short in energy but is laid out more neatly and isn’t as chaotic, while Bravo☆Bravo and Our Songs are joined by Kataomoi., also a mid-tempo track although it has an explosive chorus.

However what I most enjoy this album, even over the singles, are the slower, laid-back tracks in the album. They really were the reason why this album is so perfect for me. Urahara would be my favorite by far since it has that relaxing sound to it but just surprises you when the chorus arrives. Tabidachi no Uta, the longest in the album at 6:16, is the perfect farewell for the album as it possess those “epic ballad” qualities and is just simply beautiful.

We are Buono! is BY FAR the best H!P album I’ve listened to in the past two years. Perfect structure, well balanced singles, even better album tracks, always improving vocals and Tsunku’s genius composing. I never thought I would like an H!P album as much as I do this one since I never do expect much from H!P when it isn’t a single. Surprisingly, the new tracks beat the singles in quality and each has its own unique quality. Now if you’re a fan of the “old” Buono!, than I’m sure you won’t like this album near as much, but for the current sound that Buono! has, this is perfection in the form of an album and blows away their previous, “mid-transition” album.

Overall Rating


About Abraham

J-Pop devotee, Hello! Project ace, graphic designer, blogger, gamer, dancer, prince and day dreamer. Founded Sora to Kujira.
This entry was posted in Buono! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Buono! – We are Buono!

  1. sakurayume says:

    “My Boy” is my favorite Buono song. Its hard but its cute too. Really catchy stuff there. Good review!

  2. monochromeblues says:

    I think I might try this out~

  3. Kishiko says:

    Although my favorite tracks are the exact opposites, I have to agree that this is an outstanding album.

  4. NyNy says:

    Recommend me some songs from their album, some good instrumental Pop songs like MY BOY, Bravo☆Bravo or Our Songs.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s