f(x) – Chu~♡

Chu~♡ is f(x)’s debut single and it was released on November 4, 2009.

Tracklisting

1. Chu~♡
2. Step by me
3. You are my destiny f(Luna+Krystal)

f(x) seems to maintain that bizarre, retro style of pop from their first digital single with Chu~♡. Unlike the name gives off, the song isn’t really cutesy at all, instead it’s a synth heavy pop song(did I mention it has a lot of synth) with a crazy catchy hook. I didn’t expect to like this song too much since the instrumental is so basic and, in some parts, really absent but you can’t deny how addicting this song is.

I suppose K-Pop singles work like Hello! Project ones do; awesome title track and horrid “other” stuff. Fortunately, Step by me doesn’t fall into this category. It’s another pop track but this time uses less synth and instead has more acoustic instruments accompanied by a cute melody and a chorus which features counting. I actually like this song since it’s a nice contrast to what the title track was.

And then You are my destiny comes to ruin everything. It’s a ballad. I think saying that is enough. Even though it features the groups strongest vocalists Luna and Krystal, that alone doesn’t convince me to like this song since it is soooo boring. I think the problem with these Korean ballads is that they have such generic, boring instrumentals.

For their first single, f(x) has done a solid job. Vocally they are great(minus Amber, but she’s a rapper so…) and the only flaw here is that horrific ballad they’ve been given, even if they do nail it vocally. Hopefully they’ll stick to more upbeat songs in the future.

Overall Rating

StkIIISpadeStkIIISpadeStkIIISpadeStkIIISpadeStKIIIEmptySpade

About Abraham

J-Pop devotee, Hello! Project ace, graphic designer, blogger, gamer, dancer, prince and day dreamer. Founded Sora to Kujira.
This entry was posted in f(x) and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to f(x) – Chu~♡

  1. sakurayume says:

    I like Chu. Its so weird but fun!

  2. NyNy says:

    I think their best songs are Chocolate Love and Lollipop but I do like CHU~<3

    Hope they comeback with a new full album with Mr Boogie on it.

    New post on C-ute by the way:
    http://nynyonline.wordpress.com/2010/02/23/what-happened-to-%C2%B0c-ute/

Leave a Reply

