°C-ute – Shocking 5

Shocking 5 is °C-ute’s 5th album and it was released on February 24, 2010. It reached #25 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and has sold 6,475 copies.


1. EVERYDAY Zekkouchou!!♠♠♠♠♠
2. The Party!
3. Aa Koi / Suzuki Airi
4. Bye Bye Bye!
5. Lonely girl’s night / Yajima Maimi
6. Kimi no Senpou / Nakajima Saki, Okai Chisato, Hagiwara Mai
7. SHOCK!♠♠♠
8. Shigatsu Sengen♠♠♠
9. “Zansho Omimai Moushiagemasu.” / Suzuki Airi
10. Yume ga Aru Kara
11. Shochuu Omimai Moushiagemasu (H22 Remix)♠♠

To finish off C-ute’s recent flops, Tsunku pulls together this album. Now I have never in my entire time of being an H!P stan heard such a horrible and disappointing album.

First thing to mention are the singles. While I can admit that I do LIKE EVERYDAY Zekkouchou!! and listen to it regularly, Bye Bye Bye! is the worst a-side the group has released, while SHOCK!, which is indeed catchy, just suffers greatly by the Airi line hax. The era’s second best a-side was actually given a remix to make it sound at least a little better. The H22 Remix of Shochuu Omimai Moushiagemasu doesn’t fit in at all in the album and feels more like a “bonus track”. Fortunately, it is an improvement since its like a para-para/dance remix of the original although it is quite messy(it jumps from 8-bit to techno in some parts).

Now for the six new tracks. I only like one and that is Shigatsu Sengen. What I like about it is how natural and honest it is. Even though it’s nothing amazing or too memorable, the girls singing together and the instrumental make the song for me. However, that’s where my love for the album stops.

The album has three Suzuki Airi solos: SHOCK!, “Zansho Omimai Moushiagemasu.” and Aa Koi. I’m neutral about the b-side, though it does seem like filler material in the album but the new track is a mess. Airi’s vocals are loud and out of tune. Maimi also has her own solo, Lonely girl’s night, but it’s even worse than Airi’s. Not only are her vocals the worst I’ve ever heard her sing but the song is so sluggish and boring that it kills any desire to listen to Maimi sing ever again.

My biggest personal disappointment would be with The Party!. While it possessed many factors to being the title track for the album(it’s title, being near the beginning of the album, etc…), those chances were lowered when Shigatsu Sengen was given a PV instead. It’s b-side material at its worst. seriously, I don’t even know what Tsunku was thinking with this song. It’s the perfect song to sum up the album entirely:

Bland, boring, generic, vocally weak and honestly disgusting.

C-ute has reached rock bottom of their career with this album and it’s no surprise. Line up changes, disappointing releases and bad promotion are the reason for their now FLOPPY career. Tsunku has lost grip of what used to be H!P’s most anticipated and shining group and converted it into an Airi centered mess with weak material.

Overall Rating



About Abraham

J-Pop devotee, Hello! Project ace, graphic designer, blogger, gamer, dancer, prince and day dreamer. Founded Sora to Kujira.
This entry was posted in °C-ute and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to °C-ute – Shocking 5

  1. cosmictone says:

    You make me not want to listen to it, haha.

    The girl on the far right needs to gtfo.

  2. Pingback: Has °C-ute Lost Their Way??? « International Wota

  3. Andrea says:

    Hey, I just noticed this here for the first time. What is UP with Maimi’s right leg in that photo your posted??

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s